In a few days, we celebrate the Birth of Bahá’u’lláh. As part of preparation for this Holy Day and its celebration, it might be valuable to read some stories and recounts of believers who had the honour of being in the presence of the Blessed Beauty and experience the Majesty of His Person. The story for today is from a believer who recounts the following about his encounter with the Blessed Beauty.

What happened in my soul and heart while I was with Him was an inner and mysterious experience beyond the scope of my words to describe. One of the mullas of Isfahan once asked me, “What did you see when you were in His presence?”

I said, “I had expected to see all sorts of miracles. I also had several questions that I wanted to ask. But when I attained His presence all this became unimportant. I had found the pure water which quenches thirst and gives true life.”

The mulla asked, “What did you see?”

“I saw the form of a human being,” I replied. “But His every step and movement was like a miracle to me. I saw “Him”and my eyes could take in nothing else, for He is different from all others in His bearing and in His manner. He is unique by Himself. No one in the world can ever be compared to Him. He is the One Whom the Qur’an has declared to have neither father nor son.”

“But Baha’u’llah’s father was well known!” the man replied. And his son, ‘Abbas Effendi, is renowned for his perfections!”

“I saw neither father nor son,” was my response. “Baha’u’llah alone is the Source of God’s Revelation. He is the One Who ‘begetteth not, nor is He begotten.’ If you stand before a mirror and speak your name, your image will do likewise, but it is an illusion.”

