Every now and then, I read a good non-fiction book. After having read it, I try to present the main points and the reasoning of the author, only to find myself failing. It seems that although  I have read the book, I have not really read or understood it as I should have. In order to remedy this, I experimented with a method. The method is simply to identify key sentences in each chapter or section and then number them. If I am successful in my attempt, I can go back and read those key sentences and get a pretty good repetition of the main points of the chapters. I tried this with the book “Revelation and Social Reality” written by Mr. Paul Lample. It is indeed a really good book about the whole process and relation between the Word of God and transformation of our own selves and our Society. I feel that, having read this book, I have widened my perspectives and increased my understanding of how the process of social transformation can take place. What I did more this time, was to write down all the key sentences and thus creating an outline of the book. One could perhaps say it is also a compilation. The outline cannot replace reading the book but it can, I hope, prove to be a powerful tool in better understanding and remembering what one has read.

Fortunately, this book can be downloaded for free from the publishers webpage – Palabra Publications.

You can find the outline here, Outline of Revelation & Social Reality

